Panning

Recently, I feel like I’ve been shooting the same thing all of the time so I decided to mix it up a bit. One thing that I’ve tried a few times in the past was panning. This seems like an easy thing…but it’s really not as easy as it looks.

Before I get going I wanted to state that these shots where taken with the GF-1 on our last trip overseas. I think if I had my 5D or something with a little less shutter lag and more FPS it would have made things a little easier. So if you have a DSLR and a decent zoom lens, I would try panning with that combo over a P&S or a DSLR with a prime…just my thoughts.

Anyway, while in Europe I was really amazed at the amount of motorcycles and scooters we saw. Bad for pedestrians, good for a photographer looking for panning subjects. So I busted out the GF-1, set it to shutter priority (around 1/30th of a sec) and went to town. It took me quite a few tries to really get it down, but the results really do portray a feeling of movement.

Below were my two favorites from the day. Nothing overly interesting or life changing…just some memories of the crazy traffic in Barcelona.

Panning #1

Panning #2

Leave a Reply

