Food Photography

I’m not really one to photograph food. I’m not sure why…it’s probably because I eat it before I even have a chance to think about taking a photograph. Before the honeymoon, I was reading a travel photography blog (I’ll see if I can dig up the link) and one thing they mentioned was photographing food. Food is an integral part of most cultures and what better way to remember a town/city/country/people than photographing the food. I made sure to keep this in the front of my mind on our honeymoon as we would be traveling to places with some pretty amazing food.

The shot below was taken at a small restaurant that had outdoor seating in the area of Athens called Plaka. It was a BEAUTIFUL day and the food was absolutely amazing. We didn’t get anything fancy, just a Greek salad, spinach pie, and a Kabop. That’s right, Kabop…not Kabob. Easily the best $30 I’ve ever spent on a meal. Unfortunately, I didn’t think about taking a picture until after I started stuffing my face. Oh well, I still enjoy the shot. Actually, I think I may like it even better because it doesn’t look like its fake/staged.

Anyway, the next time you travel or even if you are a foodie, try taking pictures of your grub!

Greek Lunch

This was taken with a Panasonic GF-1 equipped with the 20mm f/1.7 “pancake” lens. The only adjustment made was a tweak to the noise level in Lightroom 3.

2 responses to “Food Photography

  1. Nice photo! Good job!

Leave a Reply

