New Weapon in the Arsenal

If you read my last post, you know that I recently go married. Luckily, we have the funds to take a nice honeymoon which means new places to photograph! In order to pack light and not have to worry about my big/expensive camera equipment, I’ve decided not to take my gear. This was a really tough decision for me. I love photography and taking pictures in new places is always so much fun but in the end I decided it probably wasn’t the best idea, here’s my reasons why:

1. I’m a worrier. If I took all of my gear with me, I would constantly worry about it. I would always be checking my bag to make sure it was closed and I would have the DEATH grip on my camera at all times. I would feel uneasy about leaving things in my room too. Also, walking around with the big white Canon L lens is just like shouting “Someone please, MUG ME RIGHT NOW!”. I don’t want to call any unnecessary attention to me or my wife while on our trip.

2. This stuff is HEAVY. I’ve walked around all day with my gear before and it’s not SUPER heavy, but it’s not exactly light either. Walking around every day for two weeks straight with all of my gear doesn’t sound like a pleasant experience to me…maybe I’m just a wimp.

3. Time. I feel like people that have caught the photography bug like I have will relate to this one. When I find something interesting, I want to take as many photographs as possible. I want to take shots from different angles, try different apertures, distances, etc. This all takes time. While we are going a way for two weeks, we only have a short time in each place so we do not have that much time to burn.

4. My wife. Honestly, I’m afraid that if I brought all of my gear, I would end up spending too much time dealing with photography instead of spending time with her. Not cool…it is our honeymoon after all 🙂 Luckily, I have an awesome wife that knows how much photography means to me so she (and my family) decided to get me quite the birthday present…see the section below.

Enter, the GF-1. I’m not sure if you’ve read up on the GF-1 or the Micro 4/3rd movement, but this little camera is pretty impressive. For those you that don’t know, the type of camera falls somewhere between a DSLR and a point and shoot…although I would say that the GF-1 is more like a DSLR with it’s controls and feature set. I’ve only had a chance to play with it for a an hour or so but I have to say, I’m pretty impressed. I opted to get the kit with the 20mm f/1.7 (which ends up being 40mm with crop factor) as I use my 50mm 90% of the time on my 5D. This is a pretty sweet combo. The camera is small enough to fit inside a jacket pocket but packs quite a punch. I think this little guys is going to be the perfect fit for our trip. The performance of a small DSLR with the size of a point and shoot. I should have pictures to share soon!

2 responses to “New Weapon in the Arsenal

  1. Now that is an awesome birthday present!

    • Yeah, I’m pumped!

      I’ll write a review once I’ve had time to use it for a while. I’m pretty impressed so far. My only complaint is ISO noise but I guess most cameras are going to look noisy compared to the 5D.

Leave a Reply

