My Favorite Photography Sites

One thing I’m constantly in search of is information. I spend hours each week reading about photography. Anything from technique to postproduction tricks, it’s all gold to me. I spend a good deal of time just finding sites that are worth reading so I thought to myself, why not make a nice little list for everyone. So, that’s exactly what I did! Below you will find a list of my favorite photography websites. I visit all of these sites several times a week. There is so much good information at these sites that I keep coming back for more! I hope you find these links helpful and informative.

Gear Reviews and Information
the-digital-picture.com – This is really the only place you need to go if you shoot Canon. This site is absolutely amazing. I mean, they have ISO 12233 resolution chart sample crop comparisons for hundreds of lenses. Brilliant!

fredmiranda.com – A great place to find user reviews for most of the popular gear on the market. This is also a great place to buy used gear.

Photography Communities
digital-photography-school.com – If you are just starting out in photography or if you have basic photographic needs/questions, this is a great site. I personally feel that most of the posts are geared towards the beginner level photographer, there is still a good deal of useful info to be found and the community is very friendly.

opensourcephoto.net – Unlike the site listed above, OSP is geared towards serious/pro photographers. While the site isn’t exactly pretty to look at, the available information is endless.

photo.net – This is a huge community of photographers that come together and talk ALL things photography. If you can’t find the answer to a photography related question on this site, the answer doesn’t exist. I’ve met several extremely kind and generous photographers through this site. Well worth a look.

Pro Photographer’s Personal Websites/Blogs
pixelatedimage.com – This is David deChemin’s blog and this has to be my favorite site. His posts are always insightful and engaging. If you are in the market for books or eBooks, you MUST check out David’s work; he is hands down my favorite author on all things photography.

chasejarvis.com – Chase is one of the most popular photographers at the moment and he is very passionate about giving back to the photographic community. He has worked with other photographers to setup creativelive.com which shoots live photo classes for free. I’ve attended a few and they are definitely worth checking out.

Educational/Informational Sites
thelightroomlab.com – I love Adobe Lightroom. This program has replaced about 90% of my need to go into Photoshop. Thelightroomlab.com has made me love this program even more because they not only explain how to use it, but they explain how to use it properly.

x-equals.com – I stumbled upon this site last week and I’ve been hooked ever since. The people that run Thelightroomlab.com actually mentioned this site in one of their posts about .dng files and I’m sure glad they did. X-Equals has a little bit of everything including tutorials on Lightroom, Photoshop, workflows, and much more. Between Thelightroomlab.com and this site, I think I’ll be set for awhile.

picturecorrect.com – This site has a new post just about everyday. They are usually short and sweet but they are helpful nonetheless.

craftandvision.com – Craft and Vision is home to eBooks from David deChemin along with other photographers. These eBooks are usually under 100 pages (some are more) but they are wonderfully written and the imagery is amazing. The best part is they are all just $5!

strobist.blogspot.com – If you want to know anything about flash photography, go to this site. PERIOD.

photofocus.com – This is another good blog that I visit several times a day as Scott is a very active blogger. His post are usually short and sweet but he has years of experience to pass along to the masses.

I’ll be sure to update this post as I find more sites so make sure to check back for new additions!

Leave a Reply

