Camdapter.com – New Toy on the Way

Photo from http://www.camdapter.com

I haven’t mentioned this before, but I HATE traditional camera straps. They are great for security and quick access to your camera, but I rarely just walk around with my camera hanging from my neck…too touristy for me. I usually end up wrapping the neck strap around my hand a few times which is not ideal but it gets it out of the way and provides some security. I’ve had a neck strap on my camera for a while now but I decided to take it off a few months ago. I was sick of constantly fighting with the thing. It would either bother my neck or it would get in the way when taking portrait shots. Off with the neck strap!

So how as life been without the neck strap? Well, it’s been better but now I’m constantly worrying that I’m going to drop my precious 5D. This is just another one of those situations where a solution to a problem just creates another problem…bummer. What I was really looking for was a HAND strap. I just wanted something that would provide some support (to prevent fatigue) and more safety/security than simply hand holding the camera. Luckily, I think I may have found the solution.

After doing some digging, I found camdapter.com. You can read his story on the site, but Jim Garavuso has created a product that seems to be exactly what I’m looking for. His solution consists of two things. The first is a plate that is secured to the camera by the tripod mount on the bottom of your camera body. The second piece is a hand strap that secures to one of your camera’s traditional strap loops and the other end attaches to the plate. Brilliant! Jim has pretty much thought of everything with this solution. Below is just a small list of things I like about this setup:

  • You can connect the hand strap AND a neck strap if you so desire. No need to remove the plate if you really miss your neck strap.
  • He makes special plates that work with Manfrotto and Arca type tripod heads
  • Provided you buy the correct plate for your camera, the plate does not need to be removed to access the battery door

I’m sure there will be more to list once I’ve had some time to use the Camdapter in the field. I literally just ordered this from his site so I’ll write a followup post once I receive my new Camdapter.

Leave a Reply

