My Review of Lowepro Primus AW Premium Backpack – Arctic Blue

Lowepro Primus AW Premium Backpack – Arctic Blue

Mixed Feelings

By pikers from Boston, MA on 5/10/2010

 

3out of 5

Pros: Roomy, Strong Construction, Adjustable Harness, Environmentally Friendly

Cons: Heavy, Cumbersome, Camera Compartment Design, Straps Galore

Best Uses: Transporting Gear, Protecting Gear

Describe Yourself: Photo Enthusiast

I was looking for a bag that could haul a basic travel setup along with a jacket, a bottle of water, maps, and other things you may need while traveling. One other requirement was quick access to the camera. I’m not a fan of having my camera hanging from my neck all day while walking around a city; I’d rather just pull open a flap and grab my camera. This bag looked like it fit the bill so I picked one up at a GREAT price. As you can probably tell, I can get a bit wordy with my reviews so I’ll just list the major pros and cons I found this this bag:

Pros
–> Storage – Once I got the dividers setup in a way that worked for me, I could get my 5D and the following glass in the bottom section of the bag (17-40L, 50 f/1.8, 70-200 f/4L IS). In the top section I could fit basically another day’s worth of clothing and still have room for other goodies. There is also a LARGE external pocket for storage of things you may need to access quickly (e.g. jacket, hat & gloves. This pocket also has a sleeve for a camelback. You COULD fit a small laptop in there, but I wouldn’t recommend it.

–> Construction – This bag is very well made. I’ve never had an issue with Lowepro quality/construction and this is no exception.

–> Adjustability – This thing has all of the harnesses you could ever want and there are a bunch of compression straps to secure all parts of this bag.

Cons
–> Weight – This bag is HEAVY. Even when empty it weighs over almost 7lbs. I really didn’t think this was significant until I loaded up the bag. I guess this is what you have to expect from a big bag that has a huge waist belt, tons of padding and a million straps.

–> Straps – This one may sound kind of silly, but there are just too many straps on this bag. All of these straps get caught on everything which gets old fast. I understand each strap has a function but there has to be a better/cleaner way to secure you gear.

–> Camera Compartment Design – I literally removed ALL of the padding and dividers from this bag and rigged up my own setup using extra pieces I had laying around from other bags. I feel like they spend tons of time designing this bag and 5 minutes thinking about the camera section. I had a hard time fitting 3 lenses comfortably in this bag with the stock dividers/padding. With my setup, I could comfortably fit my 5D, 50mm, 70-200, and my 17-40 with no problem.

Final Thoughts:
It was a very tough decision, but I ended up returning this bag. The bag just ended up being too big and heavy for what I needed. I just couldn’t see myself lugging this thing around all day with my gear and extras.

I hope this review doesn’t deter anyone from considering the bag, just keep in mind that this thing is big and heavy. With all of its straps and belts, you can basically think of this bag as a solid daypack with a camera compartment. If you’re used to and like using hiking/camping backpacks, you’ll LOVE this bag.

Help Keep the Reviews Coming!
If you’re thinking about purchasing the Lowpro Primus AW camera bag, check out Amazon.com …this is my go-to store for pretty much everything. If you click through to Amazon using the link below, I get small kickback which I use to invest in more equipment to review for you!

Amazon:
Lowepro 35092 Primus AW Premium Backpack (Arctic Blue)

