What Were You Thinking?

One thing that I’ve always wondered when looking at other people’s photography is “What were they thinking?” I don’t mean what were you thinking in a bad way…I REALLY want to know what the photographer was thinking when they took that shot. What was the photographer’s vision BEFORE they took the shot? Where they intending on capturing X, Y, and Z? If it’s black and white, did they always plan on converting the shot to black and white? Was this a spur of the moment shot or were they sitting there for hours waiting for the perfect moment? These are the types of questions that run through my head when I see a photograph that catches my eye.

Sooo, from now on I’m going to provide as much info as I can on the shots that I post on this blog. Hopefully this well help anyone that is just starting out or anyone that is curious about a particular shot. And, as always, feel free to comment or post a question.

EDIT

So after doing this for one picture, I’m not sure this is the best idea to do for EVERY photo I post. I think breaking down each photo takes away from what each person may precevie on their own from my photographs…and that’s bad. One of the great things about photography is a photo could mean something different to every and by ME tell YOU why I took the shot and basically why I like the photograph may take away from some other emotion or thought that would have occoured organically when you first took in and processed the image. Wow, that was deep…I was on a roll there. Anyway, let me know what you think about this because I’d like to know your thoughts on the subject.

2 responses to “What Were You Thinking?

  1. I agree with your edit – it’s nice to let the viewer take their own opinion with a photo. I usually only explain my self and ideas when I post photos for a photo challenge I host. And all of the participants are all so kind and encouraging of everyone in the group – so we usually get to see both sides.

  2. Thank you for commenting!

    After I wrote my post on the Fence pic I thought about this some more and I think I made the right decision.

    Oh…a photo challenge?! I may have to check that out 😉

Leave a Reply

