Farm Fence

I’ve only been out to shoot a few times this month which has really bummed me out. I try to shoot something everyday, either with my iPhone or DSLR, but photography doesn’t always fit into my schedule. The frustrating thing is I’ve found that photography is just like sports or anything else that takes some inkling of skill…you need to do it as much as possible to see any progress. I need to get back into gear here and move photography up the list of priorities a few notches.

Anyway, a few weekends ago I took a ride through Lincoln, MA and randomly found this rundown farm which I through would make a good subject. The light was pretty harsh and I wasn’t too happy about that but you have to work with what you’re given. Because the light was harsh, most of the colors were getting washed out so I was thinking black and white or sepia from the get go. When I see a scene that I like I try to get whatever the first thing was that captured my eye into the frame; in this case it was the fence. I enjoy shooting old, rundown things…not sure why. I think I like the clash of nature taking back or influencing something that is man-made. OK, back to the photo. Since this is the first photo that I’m really breaking down, I’m not sure of the best way to do this so I think I’m going to experiment and try a list. Here we go…

  • Why sepia? I went with sepia for several reasons. The first is like I said in the paragraph above, the colors were getting really washed out so I thought B&W or sepia right away. The second reason I went with sepia is because it gives the picture that old, rustic feeling.
  • Why landscape? I framed this as landscape instead of portrait for two reasons, the first being I wanted to capture as much of the fence as possible and the second being landscape aids in drawing the eye from left to right along the natural path of the fence.
  • Why that focus point? I chose this post as the focus point for several reasons:
  1. It’s on the left 1/3rd of the frame
  2. It helps draw the eye from left to right
  3. This part of the fence had the most detail and character (separation of planks, nail holes, missing paint, rot, etc.)
  4. I thought the dead brush surrounding this post really added to the overall feeling shot

I can’t think of anything else to add for this shot. If you have any other questions or think I should change anything, please let me know. I feel like writing out my process helps me and I hope it does the same for you.

Farm Fence

Leave a Reply

