My Most Recent Dilemma

I finally broke down and sold my precious Fender Stratocaster that I’ve had since Freshman year of High School. I saved and saved to buy that guitar, but it hasn’t been touched in years. I figured, why let it sit there when I can sell it to get some more camera gear. So up it went on Craigslist. It only lasted two days before someone picked it up. I’m sad to see it go, but I’m excited that I now have more $ for photography toys! The only problem is…what do I get now?

Right now, I’m shooting with the following equipment:

Canon Rebel XT w/Grip
Canon 50mm f/1.8
Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6
Canon 17-55mm f/3.5-5.6

I shoot about 90% of my pics with the 50mm and I use the Sigma for everything else. After picking up the 50mm, I think I may have used the 17-55mm twice. The 50mm just KILLS this lens. I really like the 50mm, but I think the only reason I use it so much is because it’s the best lens I own. It’s really doesn’t “fit” my style of shooting; I would like something more flexible, i.e. a good zoom lens. I would like to start shooting weddings/portrait sessions so I would like something relatively fast (f/2.8 at a min) which really only leaves me with a few options:

Canon EF-S 17-55mm F/2.8
Canon EF 70-200mm F/2.8L
Canon EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS
Canon EF 24-70mm F/2.8L

All of these lenses are pretty expensive compared to the gear I have now, but they are all impressive lenses and they are solid investments (except maybe the EF-S lens). To throw even more choices into the bunch, I have the opportunity to get a mint condition 50D on the CHEAP ($600). I’m not sure what I want to do here. The 50D is a great deal and will do pretty much everything I could want a camera to do, but I REALLY want to get some new glass. EVERYONE has always told me cameras change year to year…invest in glass. If I had anything other than my 5 year old Rebel, I would just put the money towards a new lens (probably the 70-200 IS) but I may go for the 50D…who knows.

I haven’t had much (actually any) hits on this blog yet (sad face) but if you happen to stumble upon this, feel free to share your $0.02.

Leave a Reply

